The Sims Announces Free New World!

The new world of Newcrest was announced by EA today. This is their answer to the compliants that there isn’t enough space for people’s growing families and neighborhoods. This topic has already sparked heated discussions on The Sims Forum with completely opposite opinions of this world.

Tell me what YOU think about Newcrest in the comments!


I am very excited for a new world and more space for our sims to grow and live. Since I am primarily a builder, having the extra space it great for me. The world has three neighborhoods with 5 lots per ‘hood, and all of the the lots are empty. Newcrest looks like a suburban area outside of a larger city as you can see in the photo above, the lots are mostly small sizes and according to the article on The Sims blog there is only one large lot measuring 50×40. I am disappointed that there is no 50×50 sized lots, which is my favorite size to build on. But in my opinion the smaller lots sizes fit in with the suburban feel of the neighborhoods. The Sims have released a short announcement video showing the neighborhoods, you can watch it below.

Some Forum members have noticed that Newcrest looks very similar to Willow Creek and have complained that the developers did not put any actual work into the creating this world and we, as players, shouldn’t accept free content like this when there are major items still missing from the game, like toddlers for example. I personally don’t mind the missing toddlers but many other players are very affected by them. I miss cars you can actually use and a real beach. But everybody has their own complaints. Here are some of the comments made about the new world announcement.

Farrousy wrote,

They literally have done nothing, I bet these were the steps:

1- Get Willow Creek

2- Demolish all the lots

3- Make it a bit smaller

4- Add more fake backdrops

5- BAM FALSE ADVERTISING!

MasonGamer wrote,

…all the looks like the neighbor hoods we already have got mixed and matched with other neighborhoods.

like

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

is this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

this

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

is this

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not mad, I’ll take the extra space but… it’s actually laughable…

Rudy8292 wrote,

No, it’s not free at all. What did we pay for our game again? That’s right: we payed a lot of money to get a fully fledged out game.
Instead we got: maps with a few lots, missing content (they have to add it back now bit by bit because they know they have to do some damage control).

If EA took the time to create a decent base game version of the Sims 4, all of these ”FREE” patches would not be needed. And that means that we didn’t have to wait for all of this stuff to come back to the game (for months!).

So no, EA is not generous, EA is no charity, EA just knows how they can milk the game at any costs. Giving these ”free” updates will make people willing to pay again, so they make money afterall. It’s not like EA is doing this because they like to ”give stuff” for free, no, it’s because they have to cover up their own fail.

Cinebar wrote,

I don’t see it as ‘free’ per se, we paid $60-$80 for 50 or less lots in the base game. I would say thanks, it’s about time.

 Ponderberries wrote,

Reading this thread is so confusing…
Either it’s shameful content ea should be apologizing for or it’s so good that we should be thanking the complainers for getting it for us. Which is it? You can’t have it both ways.
I think I’d rather thank ea for it and be happy for those who wanted it.

I absolutely agree with Ponderberries about the confusion, on the one hand I am delighted to have a new world with more space to build BUT Newcrest does seem like a rehash of Willow Creek with slightly different background, as other Forum members have pointed out. I see this as the lazy way of giving us Simmers what we have been asking for, I am thankful and very happy that is it free. However if this were paid content I would not buy it, and I own every expansion, game pack and stuff pack for The Sims 4, because it isn’t worth the money. I would love different scenery to look at instead of the same type as Willow Creek and a completely unique feel to the neighborhood instead of a very sterile suburban feel where all the background houses look the same. Where is the beautiful Tudor village scenery from the concept art and pre-release game?

There are also community concerns about how the culling cap, which is 180 sims, will be affected by the addition of a new world. Previously the Guru’s have stated that culling is working as it is intended, however Daniel Hiatt (@SimGuruDaniel) tweeted this in response a question about culling, which sort of indicates that perhaps it isn’t working properly.


Overall I am happy and excited that we are getting a new world for FREE! I hope that it has interesting little areas to explore in the different neighborhoods, like the playgrounds or community gardens in worlds we have now. Maybe there will even be a hidden lot, I think that is asking too much of a free world but I would be happy to be wrong. At this point I am thankful that The Sims franchise wants to sees its players satisfied and tries find solutions for the community’s concerns and wants. However, I do wish they had put a little more effort into making Newcrest feel like its own unique world and not just a suburban area of another city. 

That being said I am a builder and I will release some lots especially designed for Newcrest soon!

Tell me what you think of the new wold of Newcrest in the comments!

~Happy Simming~

8 thoughts on “The Sims Announces Free New World!

  1. Shannon SimsFan says:

    I think the first neighborhood looks ideal to use for extra commercial/public lots, since it is bordering a commercial area anyway. To me, this world is a no-lose situation, since I love the game and extra lots will be nice, and it is free. I hesitate to comment because I do not enjoy drama. I appreciate that you took the time to put out the information along with different opinions on it, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BBQPenguinWings Trish says:

    I think they are meant to look similar as oasis springs, willow creek, magnolia promenade, and Even granite falls all appear to be part of the same area, connected. If you look you can see the promenade shopping near willow creek, the city which hopefully may come next or could represent the gtw lots, and even the mountains and forest of granite falls. I like that it has had a similar vibe and seems to be connected. People will always complain and never be happy. I think it’s great that we get all these free updates and that they are listening to us.

    Like

  3. BBQPenguinWings Trish says:

    People complain about things but when they make an effort to please them they still complain that it is either not enough or they should not have had to it in the first place. Make up your mind. Are these people like this in their everyday life? Angry at loved ones for making mistakes or not doing as expected and then when they make and effort they still drag them down because they feel like it should have been done the first time? People and company’s make mistakes. You can complain but then not accept their apology or improvements. Makes no sense. Sorry I’m so wordy!

    Like

    • simplyvanillasimsblog says:

      I think that it is a very good point, I believe you are right that many people complain because they have other issues in their lives and this is a good outlet for their general frustration and anger at life. The complainers have gotten quite a few things accomplished, however they cannot see their own progress and are constantly dissatisfied.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

