About My Play Style

Hello Fellow Simmers,

I wanted to talk about how I choose to play The Sims 4. I believe that every person who plays The Sims plays in a way that is unique only to themselves and no one else. That being said, many simmers choose to follow specific legacy rules and challenges during their gameplay, the Pinstar legacies are legendary in the history of The Sims series. I am NOT one of those people, I have and probably always will be a builder primarily in the Sims series.

This means I cheat all the time, to give my family money or objects in order to build their dream house. I have always played like this in The Sims series and this is part of my reason and desire to play the game since I am a young adult living in a high rent/property value area and not in a position own a mansion and I love beautiful houses! I also usually don’t play with aging on for any of my families as I want to complete as many careers and aspirations as I can with my sims. Sometimes, I will cheat to disable needs or to give them the steel bladder need early because I don’t like spending my time in game making my sims go to the bathroom when I could be doing something more interesting. I usually play a couple who may or may not get married, I usually don’t have kids because I don’t like kids in real life (just being honest here). They with top several careers and aspirations and usually I only have to motherlode the first house I build for them, then I can just keep building them new houses until I get bored and want to start another type of sim who has drastically different traits and careers and aspirations. I find I usually just go back to my oldest save (my simself and my bf irl) after a while of playing other sims because our sims are so like us it cracks me up.

However I have found that I have become bored very quickly with the limited amount of game play in The Sims 4, I did not buy it until after pools were released but it was and still is lacking in many game play aspects and because of this I have looked into playing with different play styles than I usually do. I have been playing with needs on more and I really enjoy cooking and gardening for fresh ingredients. I thought that maybe doing more family style play would be a different approach to the game, so I looked at rule-based legacy challenges and found them a little to daunting to my need for building mansions for my sims to live in at this point. Instead I decided I might give the alphabet achievement a try and just play by my own rules, some of which are made up on the spot and/or changed for story purposes.

I started the achievement with the Slainte family with no intention of writing a story about them, simply to try a totally different game style than I have previously played but I fell in love with them as I when along with them over time. I had been kind of making this story up about them to explain the 26 generation thing and they were just to lovable that made me want to share their story in my blog. Obviously some things have remained the same, I built huge mansions for them, and obviously I cheated in order to do that. If you check the introduction, I do explain how the family was able to afford those houses, plus some background info that pertains to the rules I make up as I go along. Playing with children and families is a whole different experience, I will also be playing the different non-heir generations somewhat rationally in order to move the story progression on and this is a whole new thing for me too. I have always played only one household in a save because I have been too afraid of what would happen, when I played other households but this time I am going to just let fate happen. That being said, I will probably continue to play my own family save without rotation.

I understand that all of us play with different styles and have different likes, dislikes, annoyances, and preferences for our sims in the game, so we might not all agree on how someone chooses to play the game. Many people’s preferences might even vary from save to save. I know mine do, some families are on a long life span, some are normal and other are forever young. I also vary my traits and aspirations and create good and evil sims, or chefs, or business women, or other profession/aspirations with traits that suit them and of course build them dream homes to live in. But usually they earn their skills and work their way up the ladder of their careers honestly, and I have recently thought about trying some sort of rags to riches challenge and actually trying to follow the rules. Eek that will be so hard for me! So we will see where that might lead!

UPDATE:

I started a Rosebud Challenge which is a legacy challenge to go from §0 simoleons to §1,000,000 simoleons in a single household. Come checkout the Prospero Family!

~Happy Simming Everyone~

Leave a Reply

